Nectar & Co

Nectar and co miel biologique

Do you know who is behind our acacia and forest honey? Don’t worry and bee happy because we present you Nectar & Co, our supplier of unique honeys in both flavour and floral diversity, bearing the “Apiculture Biologique” (Organic Beekeeping) label.

Xavier Rennotte was just 12 years old when he was stung by the passion of bees and bought his first hives in 1993. Ten years later, the desire to launch a project directly related to his passion was an evidence. Xavier founded Nectar & Co, a cooperative that is committed to working with respect for producers, products and the environment. 

 

Nectar and co miel biologique

 

With ten or so apiaries in the Brussels Region and Wallonia, Nectar & Co produces its own output. This beekeeping business sums up the company’s roots.

Over nearly 20 years in business, we have also managed to forge relationships with other beekeepers across the continent. This network of organic and sustainable producers has introduced a range of honeys to the Belgian market that are unique in terms of flavour, floral diversity, and also texture, creating a truly Belgian savoir-faire.

Nectar & Co is committed to minimizing their environmental impact, in the most sensitive phases of its activity.

  • Production: among other things, thanks to a factory located in an energy-efficient building, machines that run on compressed air or closed-circuit cooling processes, limiting water consumption,… 
  • Recycling: Nectar & Co recycles the containers in which the products of the hive are sent, they are also members of the sorting and recycling organizations VAL-I-PAC and Fostplus.
  • The transport: The barrels are sent by grouping and with several producers of the region, all the raw materials come from Europe and they favor the proximity in the choice of our suppliers of material and packaging.

 

Our honey: Acacia and forest honeys

Imported from Transylvania, in central Romania, acacia honey is delicate, slightly floral and very sweet. While forest honey has more woody notes, it is also rich in oligo-elements, minerals and antioxidants.  

Our two honeys are available in bulk in containers equipped with an electric resistance to keep the honey at temperature and prevent crystallization. 

You can come and fill your own containers at will or take only the amount that satisfies your greed!  

 

Nectar and co miel biologique

 

Organic honey, but how?

Why don’t we sell Belgian organic honey? To be allowed to carry the organic label in Belgium, the apiary must be located in an organic area within a 3 km radius. This is very difficult to achieve in our small country due to population density.

 

Nectar and co miel biologique

Nectar & Co

Nectar and co miel biologique

Savez-vous qui se cache derrière notre miel d’acacia et de forêt ? Non ? Don’t worry et bee happy car on vous présente Nectar & Co, notre fournisseur de miels uniques en goût, sous un label « Apiculture Biologique » ! 

 

Xavier Rennotte a tout juste 12 ans lorsqu’il est piqué par la passion des abeilles et qu’il achète ses premières ruches en 1993. Dix ans plus tard, l’envie de lancer un projet directement relié à sa passion fût une évidence. Xavier fonde donc Nectar & Co, une coopérative qui s’engage à travailler dans le respect des producteurs, des produits et de l’environnement. 

 

Nectar and co miel biologique

 

Avec une dizaine de ruchers situés en Région Bruxelloise et en Wallonie, Nectar & Co possède sa propre production. En près de 20 ans d’activité se sont aussi tissés des collaborations et échanges commerciaux avec d’autres apiculteurs de notre continent. 

Ce partenariat de producteurs issus de la filière biologique et raisonnée a permis de mettre sur le marché belge une gamme de miels uniques en goût, en diversité florale mais également en texture, véritable savoir-faire belge.

 

Nectar & Co s’engage à minimiser l’impact environnemental de son activité, dans les phases les plus sensibles de son activité.

  • La production : entre autre grâce à un atelier implanté dans un bâtiment économe en énergie, des machines qui fonctionnent à l’air comprimé ou des processus de refroidissement en circuit fermé, limitant la consommation d’eau. 
  • Le recyclage : Nectar & Co recycle les contenants dans lesquels les produits de la ruche sont envoyés, ils sont également membres des organismes de promotion de tri et recyclage VAL-I-PAC et de Fostplus.
  • Le transport : Les fûts sont envoyés par groupage et avec plusieurs producteurs de la région, toutes les matières premières viennent d’Europe et ils favorisent la proximité dans le choix de nos fournisseurs de matériel et d’emballages.

 

Nos miel : Acacia et forêt

Importés de Transylvanie, au centre de la Roumanie, le miel d’acacia est délicat et légèrement floral très sucrant, tandis que le miel de forêt rappelle des notes plus boisées, riche en oligoéléments, minéraux et antioxydants.

Nos deux miels sont disponibles en vrac dans des fûts équipés d’une résistance électrique permettant de maintenir le miel à température et éviter qu’il ne cristallise. 

Vous pouvez venir remplir vos propres contenants à l’infini ou n’emporter que la quantité qui pourra satisfaire votre gourmandise !

 

 

Du miel bio, mais comment ?

Pourquoi ne vendons-nous pas de miel bio belge ? En Belgique, pour avoir le label bio, le rucher doit se trouver dans un milieu bio d’un rayon de 3 km. C’est très difficile à réaliser dans notre petit pays au vu de la densité de population, surtout dans les quantités dont nous avons besoin. 

 

Nectar and co miel biologique