Generous

IMG_5518-2

 

Generous is the story of four Belgian entrepreneurs that nothing predestined to meet. They met because they had a project in common: to start a biscuit factory without gluten.

It all started with Theodora and Christophe. She is a graphic designer and he is a specialist in marketing. Three years ago, Christophe discovered a strong intolerance to gluten. “We then changed our diet and discovered a restaurant in Brussels offering excellent breads and pastries without gluten. During their visits, the young couple became friends with the bosses, Jean-Benoît, master pastry chef, and his wife Aurélie.

The couple then decides to unite with a strong desire to be entrepreneurs and break this image of austerity and relative blandness associated to gluten-free products. Generous is four lovers of the good, the authentic and the greedy; four talents who knew how to exploit their complementarity.

For Jean-Benoît, “gluten-free” becomes a source of inspiration and challenges. In their Certisys certified Brussels workshop, he seeks the right raw materials, the right dosages and the right processes to obtain the most appropriate textures and flavors. “The base is buckwheat, a naturally gluten-free cereal that provides crunchiness and a touch of toasty. The most difficult thing was to find a binder to replace gluten and its elasticity. Tapioca flour and potato starch helped us meet this challenge. ”

At The Barn, we decided to team up with Generous to offer gluten-free, artisanal and absolutely delicious cookies.

 

Leave your comment

Generous

IMG_5518-2

Generous,  c’est l’histoire d’un quatuor d’entrepreneurs belges que rien ne prédestinait à se rencontrer. Ils se sont rencontrés car ils avaient un projet en commun : se lancer dans une biscuiterie sans gluten.

Tout a commencé avec Théodora et Christophe. Elle est graphiste et lui spécialiste en marketing. Il y a trois ans, Christophe se découvre une forte intolérance au gluten. « Nous avons alors modifié notre alimentation et découvert un salon de restauration Bruxellois proposant d’excellents pains et pâtisseries sans gluten ».  Au fil de ses visites, le jeune couple se lie d’amitié avec les patrons, Jean-Benoît, maître-pâtissier, et son épouse Aurélie.

Le duo de couples décide alors de s’unir avec une furieuse envie d’entreprendre et de rompre cette image d’austérité et de relative fadeur liée aux produits sans gluten. Generous, c’est quatre amoureux du bon, de l’authentique et du gourmand ; quatre talents qui ont su exploiter leur complémentarité.

Pour Jean-Benoît, le « sans gluten » devient une source d’inspiration et de défis. Dans leur atelier bruxellois certifié Certisys, il cherche les bonnes matières premières, les bons dosages et les bons procédés pour obtenir les textures et les saveurs les plus adéquates. « La base, c’est le sarrasin, une céréale naturellement sans gluten, qui apporte du craquant et une touche toastée. Le plus difficile a été de trouver un liant pour remplacer le gluten et son élasticité. La farine de tapioca et la fécule de pommes de terre nous ont aidés à relever ce défi ».

A The Barn, nous avons décidé de nous allier à Generous pour vous offrir des biscuits sans gluten, artisanaux et absolument délicieux.

Leave your comment