Ethiquable

Nicolas Clarebout

The worker cooperative
Ethiquable is a citizen and solidarity cooperative. Behind these words are hidden human and moral values ​​that are very dear to us.
For 15 years, they have been promoting fair trade and supporting organic peasant farming with 70 cooperatives of small-scale producers. They accompany organic producers in the field to carry out fair trade projects, to help them get along. develop and become autonomous.

FECCANO and Ethiquable
FECCANO is a federation of 6 cooperatives in northern Haiti that brings together more than 3,000 small cocoa farmers. They were able to value their cocoa thanks to fair trade; fair price, on-site fermentation and quality improvement. Indeed, for a long time, the 4,000 tons of cocoa beans harvested each year in Haiti were not valued on the world market. It was then destined for the mass market, engulfed in an industrial production of mediocre quality.
The Ethiquable project with the FECCANO cooperative has changed the deal: in 2015, the cooperative won the Cacao of Excellence award by the International Cocoa Awards.

FECCANO

The challenges of FECCANO
The mission of this young collective is twofold:
Increase the number of certified producers in the coming years;
Improve the production of peasant plantations.

The particularly fair price and the absence of intermediaries allow the cooperatives to pay the cocoa to the farmers about 30% more than the local intermediaries, while covering investments (dryers, offices, ..) and training actions.

Products at The Barn
Cocoa, dark- milk chocolate chips, sugar.
More info on their website

Leave your comment

Ethiquable

Nicolas Clarebout

La SCOP
Ethiquable, c’est une entreprise coopérative, citoyenne et solidaire. Derrière ces trois mots se cachent des valeurs humaines et morales qui nous sont très chères.
Depuis 15 ans, ils agissent en faveur d’un commerce équitable engagé et soutiennent l’agriculture paysanne bio avec 70 coopératives de petits producteurs partenaires.Ils accompagnent sur le terrain les producteurs bio pour réaliser des projets de commerce équitable, pour les aider à se développer et à devenir autonomes.

La coopérative FECCANO et Ethiquable
La FECCANO est une fédération de 6 coopératives du Nord d’Haïti qui rassemble plus 3000 petits cacaoculteurs. Ils ont pu valoriser leur cacao grâce au commerce équitable ; prix juste, fermentation sur place et amélioration de la qualité. En effet, pendant longtemps, les 4000 tonnes de fèves de cacao récoltées chaque année en Haïti n’étaient pas valorisées sur le marché mondial. Il était alors destiné au marché de masse, englouti dans une production industrielle de médiocre qualité.
Le projet d’Ethiquable avec la coopérative FECCANO a changé la donne : la coopérative s’est vu décerner en 2015 un Cacao d’Excellence par les International Cocoa Awards.

FECCANO

Les enjeux de FECCANO
La mission de cette jeune collective est double:
Accroître le nombre de producteurs certifiés dans les années à venir;
Améliorer la production des plantations paysannes.

Le prix particulièrement équitable et l’absence d’intermédiaires permet aux coopératives de payer le cacao aux paysans à environ 30% de plus que les intermédiaires locaux, tout en couvrant des investissements (séchoirs, bureaux, ..) et des actions de formation et d’animation.

Produits chez The Barn :
Le cacao, les galets de chocolat noir et au lait, sucre.
Plus d’infos sur leur site

Leave your comment