Daan

fd77a0f8-7ef4-4f09-83b2-4969043a2ab0

After working as a seasonal crop farmer for seven years, Daan switched completely to farming in 2011. He started on a family plot of land that he inherited, which was then gradually expanded.

Ten years later, he has 3 hectares. However, he only farms one hectare at a time. On the remaining plots, he has installed orchards and leaves a few wilder parts to preserve biodiversity. He also has a small number of greenhouses that are heated naturally by the sun. 

Nature as an ally 

Daan has set up an ingenious rainwater harvesting system to water his plantations. And in the middle of the fields, there is a small pond in which tadpoles are swimming peacefully. When these turn into frogs, they become Daan’s main allies against slugs.

Daan’s philosophy

Daan only works with hand tools. When it comes to harvesting and maintenance, he does everything by hand. This decision is in line with his philosophy and his way of thinking. At the same time, he also hires young people to come and help him, to gain experience, to bring them in contact with the land and to share his vision of agriculture with them. 

The Barn and Daan

The Barn and Daan are a great love story. In fact, in addition to being a close customer (especially for Jette because Daan lives in Laeken), The Barn shares the same philosophy as he does. Besides the Barn, Daan has four or five other customers, which allows him to diversify his plantations.

Daan

fd77a0f8-7ef4-4f09-83b2-4969043a2ab0

Après avoir travaillé en tant que saisonnier dans les cultures pendant sept ans, c’est en 2011 que Daan s’est totalement reconverti dans l’agriculture. Il a débuté sur une parcelle de terrain familiale qu’il a héritée, qui s’est ensuite peu à peu agrandie.

Dix ans plus tard, il dispose de 3 hectares. Toutefois, il n’exploite qu’un hectare à la fois. Sur les parcelles restantes, il a installé des vergers et laisse quelques parties plus sauvages pour préserver la biodiversité. Il dispose également d’un petit nombre de serres qui chauffent naturellement avec le soleil. 

La nature comme alliée 

Daan a mis en place un ingénieux système de récupération d’eau de pluie afin d’arroser ses plantations. Et au milieu des champs, on retrouve un petit étang aménagé dans lequel nagent tranquillement des têtards. Quand ceux-ci se transformeront en grenouilles, elles deviennent les principaux alliés de Daan contre les limaces.

Philosophie de Daan

Daan ne travaille qu’avec des outils manuels. Pour ce qui est des récoltes et entretiens, il fait tout à la main. Cette décision est en accord avec sa philosophie et sa manière de voir les choses. En parallèle, il engage également des jeunes pour venir l’aider, leur permettre de gagner en expérience, de les mettre en contact avec la terre et ainsi de leur partager sa vision de l’agriculture.

 

The Barn et Daan

Entre le Barn et Daan, c’est une grande histoire d’amour. En effet, en plus d’être un client de proximité (surtout pour Jette car Daan vit à Laeken), le Barn partage la même philosophie que lui. À côté du Barn, Daan a quatre ou cinq autres clients, ce qui lui permet de diversifier ses plantations.